This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mbundu Kingdom (Angola)

Traditional kingdom

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: angola | mbundu |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Image by John Duncan McMeekin, 09 Feb 2014

See also:

Mbundu Kingdom

The Mbundu Kingdom in Angola uses a plain white flag with the Royal Elephant emblem in grey in the center.

The original Mbundu Kingdom existed in Angola and had 22 Kings and Queens.  The last king, Mwene Mbunda XXI Lyondthi Kapova, was abducted by the Portuguese in 1914.  A new kingdom has subsequently been instituted.

The Mbundu are now living in Angola (11 Districts), Democratic Republic of Congo, Namibia and in 9 Chiefdoms in 5 districts of Zambia (in Western, North-Western, and Southern Provinces).  The main chief in Zambia is Sebior Chief Sikufele X (under British rule known as a Paramount Chief) who succeeded in 1960 as the 10th Senior Chief.  All Chiefs are known by the local title for King or Chief, namely Mwene (including those in other countries).  In Zambia the title for Queen is Lady Mwene.
John Duncan McMeekin, 09 Feb 2014