This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nova Boa Vista, Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Last modified: 2020-08-02 by ian macdonald
Keywords: rio grande do sul | nova boa vista |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Nova Araçá, RS (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 1 August 2020

See also:


The municipality of Nova Boa Vista (1,775 inhabitants in 2019; 9,373 ha) is located 330 km north-west of Porto Alegre.
The municipality was established by State Law No. 9,608 promulgated on 20 March 1992, separating from Sarandi and Chapada.
Municipal website
Ivan Sache, 31 July 2020


The flag of Nova Boa Vista is prescribed by Municipal Law No. 44 promulgated on 22 July 1993.

Article 1.
The flag of the municipality of Nova Boa Vista has for colors white, blue and yellow and the municipal coat of arms in its central part.
The colors of the flag have the following meaning:
Blue symbolizes pure sky.
Yellow symbolizes wealth produced by the municipality.
White symbolizes peace and integration, as does the stripes' convergence.

Article 2.
The flag's features shall obey the following rules:
I. The flag's width shall be 14 units.
II. The flag's length shall be 20 units.
III. In the center is placed the municipal coat of arms.
IV. The location of the coat of arms shall obey the following norms:
a) its center shall be placed exactly in the middle of the 20 units and its lower part shall reach the 4th unit in width.
b) laterally, the coat of arms shall cover 6 units, from the 8th to the 13th unit.

Article 3.
The two sides of the flag shall be exactly the same, mirroring each other.
Leis Municipais database

Not an easy guess from the Law, the flag is quartered yellow-blue by a broad white saltire, charged in the center with the municipal coat of arms.


The coat of arms of Nova Boa Vista is prescribed by Municipal Law No. 43 promulgated on 22 July 1993.

Article 1.
A shield divided into three quarters, based on two quarters and a sector. The shield surrounded by a three-towered red crown, representing the three powers, the Executive, the Legislative and the Judiciary. The openings in the crown represent the main settlements and the municipality's seat: Cachoeirinha, Jaboticaba, Caúna, Maneador, Nossa Senhora das Graças, Perau and Nova Boa Vista (seat). In the first quarter, on a white background, a pig, a bovine and a poultry bird as a tribute to cattle-breeding. The white background represents arable land, which means proper production. In the second quarter, a green sector representing agriculture, one of the economy's powerful forces, organized on strong bases. In the same quarter is featured a yellow cogwheel in the center with a book and a quill, representing Industry, Commerce, Culture and Education in the municipality. The third quarter features a three-towered church representing the three religions: Evangelic, Lutheran in Brazil, and Catholic, on a blue field symbolizing the municipality's sky and pure air.
The shield supported by a soybean plant and a maize plant, symbolizing the main crops in the municipality. Beneath the shield, a white scroll with the municipality's date of emancipation ("20 de março de 1992).
Leis Municipais database


Ivan Sache, 1 August 2020

Escola Estadual Ensino Médio Antonio Mathias Anschau

Nova Araçá, RS (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 1 August 2020

The flag of E.E.E.M. Antonio Mathias Anschau is white and blue with the school's emblem in the center.
Ivan Sache, 1 August 2020