This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lübeck Military Flags (Lübeck, Germany)

Lübeckische Militärflaggen

Last modified: 2014-03-08 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: luebeck | sentinels | hanseatic legion | militia | city soldiery |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

More details about the various Hamburg militias can be found on these pages:

Introduction of Lübeck Military

In Lübeck there had been three military organizations side by side. Each one was controlled by a civil authority.
The City Soldiery was a troop of professional soldiers, commanded by a City Captain (Stadthauptmann), an equivalent to a colonel. The units were controlled by the war commission (Kriegskommisariat). The Citizens' Sentinels (Bürgerwehr; Bürgerwacht) was a conscript militia having unpaid staff. It was subdivided into quarters and companies. There was was no commander-in-chief, but among the captains was one paid Civic-(Captain)-Lieutenant, who was primus inter pares. The militia was controlled by civil functionaries, called Wachtherren, and had an own military court (Wachtgericht). It was the same with the artillery corps (Artillerieherren/Artilleriegericht). The artillery was commanded by a senior officer, usually a major. Attempts to incorporate the artillery into the soldiery failed.
The civil authorities were united in 1814, and the new authority was called "deputation of armature" (Bewaffnungsdeputation).
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 24 Feb 2014

back to Lübeck Main Page click here.