This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nienburg (Weser) County (Germany)

Landkreis Nienburg (Weser), Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-13 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: nienburg (weser) county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Nienburg (Weser) County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 31 Dec 2007
Flag adopted 17 Nov 1955 See also:

Nienburg (Weser) county

County: Nienburg (Weser)
county seat: Nienburg (Weser)
area: 1 398.9 km²
population: 125 436
divisions: 36 municipalities, incl. 32 in 8 comprehensive municipalities, 1 city, 2 towns
Flag adopted 17 November 1955
Coat of Arms adopted 25 February 1935
Jörg Majewski, 31 Dec 2007

Coat of Arms

[Nienburg (Weser) County arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 31 Dec 2007
adopted 25 Feb 1935

Additions : 1932 Stolzenau
The arms were granted on 25 February 1935.
The largest part of the district historically belonged to the County of Hoya until 1582. This is symbolised by the bear's claw, taken from the Hoya arms. The horn in the lower left part is derived from the arms of the Counts of Wölpe (see als Neustadt am Rübenberge), who also played a major role in the history of the district. The chief shows two horse heads, a typical decoration upon the farm roofs in the district.
Literature : Stadler 1964, p.67
Source: Ralf Hartemink

back to County and Municipal Flags (Lower Saxony / Niedersachsen) click here