This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nürnberger Land County (Germany)

Kreis Nürnberger Land, Mittelfranken District, Bavaria

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: nuernberger land | demi-eagle | demi-millwheel | bendy(red-silver) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Nürnberger Land County banner (Germany)] 5:2 image by Stefan Schwoon, 20 Sep 2001
approved 11 January 1988
See also:

Nürnberger Land County

White-red stripes. The county comprises the area east of Nürnberg, its capital is Lauf an der Pegnitz. The eagle stands for the former imperial city of Nürnberg.
Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Linder and Olzog 1996.
Stefan Schwoon, 12 Oct 2001

The former counties of Nürnberg, Hersbruck and Lauf an der Pegnitz merged in 1972 to form the new Nürnberger Land county. The coat of arms was approved on 1 October 1974.

The upper part shows the small arms of the city of Nürnberg, which was also present in the three shields of the former county. The demi-millwheel in base is a new symbol and is representing the many water-mills in the Pegnitz river, which had been of great economical importance in the past.
Source: Linder and Olzog 1996, Stadler 1964, pp.44 / 100 and Stadler 1966, p.102
Santiago Dotor, 4 Feb 2004

back to Bavarian District, County and Municipal Flags Index page click here