This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Municipality of Wittighausen (Germany)

Gemeinde Wittighausen, Main-Tauber-Kreis, Baden-Württemberg

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: wittighausen | wheel(7 spokes) | flags(3) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Wittighausen municipal banner] image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 31 May 2013
approved See also:

Municipality of Wittighausen

Wittighausen Municipal Banner

Description of banner:
It is a white - blue (celestial) vertical bicolour. The coat of arms is shifted to the top.
Source: Main-Tauber County page (Note: Link to proper subpage is now obsolete)
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 31 May 2013

Wittighausen Municipal Coat of Arms

Description of coat of arms:
At the bottom of a celestial blue shield is a silver (= white) wheel with seven spokes. Three square flags, quarterly divided into silver (= white) and red and fixed at golden (= yellow) spears are stuck upon the wheel.
The flags are symbolizing the settlement cores of Unterwittighausen, Oberwittighausen and Vilchband, which belonged to the Bishopric of Würzburg. The wheel, in municipal heraldry often displayed with seven spokes, is a symbol of the Archbishopric and Electorate of Mainz and representing the settlement core of Poppenhausen.
Source: Landeskundliches Informationssystem Baden-Württemberg

Banner and coat of arms were approved on 10 April 1979 by the county administration, published in GABl 254/1980.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 31 May 2013

back to Main-Tauber cities and municipalities click here