This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ancón Parish (Santa Elena, Ecuador)

Last modified: 2021-08-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: ecuador | santa elena | ancón |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Ivan Sache, 12 January 2015

See also:


The parish of (San José de) Ancón is part of Santa Elena canton (Santa Elena province).
Ancón is the cradle of oil extraction in Ecuador and South America. The oil shaft "Ancón 1" was established in 1911 by the Anglo Ecuadorian Oilfields Ltd. company. In 1923, the original mining camp had turned into an organized town; the Polish community placed the town under the protection of St. Joseph. The Ancón oilfields, nationalized on 16 June 1976, were taken over by Corporación Estatal Petrolera Ecuatoriana (CEPE), today, Petroecuador. The civic organization pushing the establishment of the parish of Ancón was formed the next day. The parish of Ancón was established by Ministerial Agreement No. 350 of 15 November 2002, published on 4 February 2003 in the Supplement to the Official Register, No. 14.
Ivan Sache, 12 January 2015

The Flag

The flag of Ancón is white with a dark green stripe placed along the descending diagonal and charged with three yellow, six-pointed stars, the central (seemingly) bigger.
White is a symbol of unity and integration - of Ecuadorian citizens form different parts of the country and of citizens from other countries of the world. White is also a symbol of peace.
The dark green stripe is a symbol of oil, the natural resource at the origin of the parish. The three stars represent the capital of the parish and the two communes of El Tambo and Prosperidad.
Source: - Parish website
Ivan Sache, 12 January 2015