This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Puerto Quito Canton (Pichincha, Ecuador)

Cantón Puerto Quito

Last modified: 2021-08-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: pichincha | puerto quito | quito |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jens Pattke, 29 October 2002

see also:


Puerto Quito canton (20,445 inhabitants in 2011, 64,070 ha) is located on the borders with Imbabura and Esmeraldas provinces.
The place was originally named Puerto de Quito (Quito Port) by Pedro Vicente Maldonado, who searched a passage between Quito and the Atlantic Ocean and believed that navigation on river Caoní would be possible down to the ocean.
Settled in 1965, the parish of Porto Quito was established on 23 March 1989, as part of Quito canton.
Porto Quito canton was established by Law No. 115, published on 1 April 1996 in the Ecuadorian official gazette, No. 916.
Canton website
Ivan Sache, 18 September 2018


The flag of Puerto Quito is composed of three horizontal stripes of the same dimensions. The upper stripe, green, represents the great plant biodiversity, a natural resource and promise of better days. The median stripe, red, is a symbol of love, passion, struggle and commitment of people. The lower stripe, blue, reflects a balanced life, the rivers, marshes, lakes, waterfalls and torrents with crystalline water releasing peace canticles.
Canton website
Ivan Sache, 18 September 2018

Coat of Arms

image from provincial website