This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kingdom of Torgu (Estonia)

Last modified: 2021-08-12 by zachary harden
Keywords: torgu | estonia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image located by Albert Kirsch, 15 January 2019

See also:

Kingdom of Torgu

The website at presents an amusing story. The flag is attached; it had (has?) been suggested for Estonia generally.

In 1992, soon after the Republic of Estonia gained independence from the Soviet Union, the Sőrve peninsula on the island of Saaremaa was divided into two municipalities, Salme and Torgu parish. But while the new constitution of Estonia was being formed, civil servants simply forgot to count in the Torgu parish at all. Thanks to this human error, this 48.8-square-mile area was technically not governed by the constitution.

The 500-odd people who lived in the area were surprised by this negligence, but soon decided to take advantage of the mistake. They came up with the idea of starting their own country, and calling it a kingdom. The throne was offered to a journalist and political activist named Kirill Teiter, who accepted it and became the first (and only) monarch to reign over the newly formed Kingdom of Torgu. The kingdom has its own flag, a coat of arms with a “snail-dragon” as the emblematic animal, and its own currency in coins, the “kirill,” with the worth of 1 kirill fixed to the price of a half-liter of local vodka.

When a new law was passed in 1993, the Torgu area was once again officially counted into the constitution, but the locals had grown fond of being in their own kingdom and continued to go along with it nonetheless. In 2017, all the municipalities on the island were merged into one, but the spirit of the kingdom still lives in the hearts of the local residents. You can see the Torgu flags waving and the coat of arms presented here and there throughout the former parish.


Albert S. Kirsch, 15 January 2019