This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Merindad de Sotoscueva (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2019-01-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: merindad de sotoscueva |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Merindad de Sotoscueva - Image from the Escudos y Banderas de la Provincia de Burgos website, 15 February 2014

See also:

Presentation of Merindad de Sotoscueva

The municipality of Merindad de Sotoscueva (477 inhabitants in 2010; 15,335 ha; municipal website) is located 100 km of Burgos. The municipality is made of the villages of Ahedo de Linares (14 inh.), Barcenillas de Cerezo (24 inh.), Bedón (12 inh.), Butrera (12 inh.), Cogullos (8 inh.), Cornejo (61 inh.; capital), Cueva (30 inh.), Entrambosríos (28 inh.), Hornillalastra (21 inh.), Hornillalatorre (6 inh.), Hornillayuso (23 inh.), Linares (10 inh.), Nela (4 inh.), La Parte de Sotoscueva (4 inh.), Pereda (12 inh.), Quintanilla-Sotoscueva (27 inh.), Quintanilla-Valdebodres (18 inh.), Quintanilla del Rebollar (48 inh.), Quisicedo (54 inh.), Redondo (19 inh.), Sobrepeña (7 inh.), Vallejo (20 inh.), Villabáscones (17 inh.) and Villamartín de Sotoscueva (20 inh.), and of the two deserted villages of Herrera de Redondo and El Rebollar.

Merindad de Sotoscueva is named for one of the seven administrative divisions (merindades) that existed in Old Castile from the 16th century until the administrative reorganization set up in 1835.
The karstic caves of Ojo Guareña, located on the municipal territory, are the biggest caves in Spain; they are made of some 100 km of underground galleries scattered on different levels. The Ojo Guareña site, registered as a Natural Monument on 27 March 1996, includes some 400 caves and rupestrian hermitages; the San Barnabé Hermitage is the place of a pilgrimage held every year on Saturday 11 June - or, on the first Saturday following 11 June.

Ivan Sache, 11 April 2011

Symbols of Merindad de Sotoscueva

The flag of Merindad de Sotoscueva is prescribed by a Decree adopted on 14 May 1998 by the Burgos Provincial Government, signed on 4 June 1998 by the President of the Government, and published on 22 June 1998 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 116 (text).
The flag is described as follows:

Flag: Quadrangular flag, with proportions 1:1, with two equal horizontal stripes, red on top and yellow on bottom. At hoist a black triangle with a vertex in the geometric center of the flag. On the triangle is placed the municipal coat of arms.

Ivan Sache, 11 April 2011