This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Villegas (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2019-01-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: villegas |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Villegas

The municipality of Villegas (90 inhabitants in 2015; 2,450 ha; village blog) is located in the north-west of the Province of Burgos, 40 km of Burgos.The municipality is made of the villages of Villegas and Villamorón (2 inh.).

Villegas and Villamorón were established during the re-settlement campaign organized by Diego Rodríguez, the founder of Burgos. The settlements were named for their re-settlers, Egas and Mauronte. The original foundation included another four settlements, which disappeared in the early 14th century: Fuentecabeza, Pililla, San Juan and Villao / Villa Hux.
Villegas and Villamorón probably belonged to the alfoz (group of villages) of Hormaza, mentioned in 1237 as seated in the castle of Las Hormazas. Villamorón was then a significant village, as evidenced by the Romanesque church erected in the 12th century; in the next century, the village counted 40 households, while Villegas was much more populous.
At the end of the 16th century, the two villages formed a single entity counting c. 500 inhabitants. The Ensenada cadaster (1752) lists Villegas and Villamorón as two boroughs sharing the same jurisdiction. In 1950, Villegas still counted 476 inhabitants and Villamorón another 149.

Ivan Sache, 21 April 2015

Symbols of Villegas

The flag and arms of Villegas, approved on 4 May 2002 by the Municipal Council, are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 13 July 2002 by the Municipal Council, signed the same day by the Mayor, and published on 29 July 2002 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 145, p. 10,138 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Quadrangular, 1 by 1. Five horizontal stripes: 1st, 3rd and 5th, green, red and blue, respectively, with a height of 3/10, and the two other yellow, with a height of 0.5/10, placed at the top and bottom of the red stripe. In the center is placed the coat of arms of the town.
Coat of arms: Per fess, 1. Vert a rising sun argent four furrows or. 2. Azure a Romanesque arch or. A bordure gules six towers or Grafted in base argent a fess wavy azure. The shield surmounted with a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 21 April 2015