This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Santa María de la Isla (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: santa maría de la isla | león |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Santa María de la Isla - Image by Antonio Gutiérrez (VexiLeón website), 11 December 2010

See also:

Presentation of Santa María de la Isla

The municipality of Santa María de la Isla (578 inhabitants in 2010; 1,275 ha) is located in the south of León Province, 45 km of León. The municipality is made of the villages of Santa María de la Isla proper (367 inh.) and Santibáñez de la Isla (211 inh.).

Ivan Sache, 11 December 2010

Symbols of Santa María de la Isla

The flag and arms of Santa María de la Isla (municipal website) are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 7 September 2005 by the Municipal Council, signed on 20 September 2005 by the Mayor, and published on 4 October 2005 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 192, p. 16,894 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular flag with proportions 2:3, made of three equal horizontal stripes, the upper red, the middle white and the lower green with a blue trapeze placed along the hoist and charged with a circle of 12 [white] five-pointed stars.
Coat of arms: Tierced per fess, 1. Gules, 2. Wavy azure fimbriated argent, 3. Vert, all over 12 five-pointed stars argent in orle. The shield surmounted with a Royal crown closed.

The symbols were designed by Vicente Tocino Letrado and Tomás Rodríguez Peñas. A document kept in the National Historical Archives, Sigillography Section, signed on 11 September 1878 by Mayor Jerónimo López, is sealed with the official coat of arms of Spain of the times, which indicates that Santa María de la Isla never had official arms. Therefore, brand new arms were designed. The proposals were approved on 20 August 2005 by the Chronicler of Arms of Castilla y León.
The upper red quarter represents the color characteristic of the region, the wavy blue stripe represents river Tuerto watering the municipality, and the lower green quarter represents the plain; the 12 stars are a Marian symbol. The flag was made rectangular for aesthetic reasons, matching those of Spain and León Province used together. The colors are those of the coat of arms and of the pennants used today by the two villages.

Ivan Sache, 11 December 2010