This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Faraján (Municipality, Andalusia, Spain)

Last modified: 2021-11-05 by ivan sache
Keywords: faraján |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Faraján - Image from the Símbolos de Málaga website, 18 September 2016

See also:

Presentation of Faraján

The municipality of Faraján (265 inhabitants in 2015; 2,041 ha; municipal website) is located 120 km west of Málaga.

Faraján was first documented in the Moorish times, as Farrajan, in Arab, "a delicious place". The Moors cohabited with captured Jews and Christians in small estates, such as Albalaxtear, Chucar, Cenajen, and Castillejo.
After the Christian reconquest of Ronda, the estates were suppressed while their inhabitants were transferred to Faraján, a Royal town depending on Ronda. In the 16th century, the village, deserted after the expelling of the Moriscos, was resettled by Christians colonists.
Faraján was granted in 1814 the status of villa by Ferdinand VII, as a reward for "loyalty, constancy and sacrifice exhibited during the War of Independence against the French".

Ivan Sache, 18 September 2016

Symbols of Faraján

The flag and arms of Faraján, adopted on 10 April 2006 by the Municipal Council and submitted on 27 May 2006 to the Directorate General of the Local Administration, is prescribed by a Resolution adopted on 24 May 2006 by the Directorate General of the Local Administration and published on 12 June 2006 in the official gazette of Andalusia, No. 111, pp. 67-68 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular, in proportions 2:3, divided into two horizontal stripes of equal width, the upper, white, and the lower, green. In the center of the panel, the municipal coat of arms in full colours.
Coat of arms: Or three chestnut trees proper in fess on a base vert in base waves argent and azure the chief dancetty gules charged with a crescent argent. The shield surmounted by a Royal Spanish crown closed.

Faraján appears to use the arms of the Spanish Crown, granted in 1814 by Ferdinand VIII together with the status of villa.
[Municipal website]

Ivan Sache, 18 September 2016