This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Villarmayor (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: villarmayor |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Villarmayor

The municipality of Villarmayor (215 inhabitants in 2012; 3,905 ha) is located 30 km from Salamanca. The municipality is made of the villages of Villarmayor and Espino de los Doctores, and of the deserted villages of Contiensa, Palacios de los Dieces, Pañamecer and Zafroncino.

Villarmayor is known for its megalithic monuments (4th-3rd millenniums AD), the most famous of them being the Torrejón dolmen and the two tumulus of El Guijo de las Nevas (see a detailed analysis in: Díaz- Guradamino Uribe M. 1997. El grupo megalítico de Villarmayor (Salamanca) : Contribución al estudio del megalitismo del occidente de la Meseta Norte. Complutum, 8, 39-56).

Ivan Sache, 7 March 2014

Symbols of Villarmayor

The flag and arms of Villarmayor are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 29 September 2011 by the Municipal Council, signed on 17 October 2011 by the Mayor, and published on 27 October 2011 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 208, p. 81,194 (text).
The symbols, which were validated by the Chronicler of Arms of Castilla y León, are described as follows:

Flag: Contraembrazada argent in the middle and gules [red with a white triangle with its vertices at mid hoist, upper fly and lower fly], charged with the municipal coat of arms surmounted by the Royal Crown of the Spanish Monarchy.
Coat of arms: Per fess, 1. Gules (red) a garb of five wheat spikes or and a bell of the same per fess, 2. Vert a fountain argent. The shield surmounted by a Spanish Royal Crown.

Ivan Sache, 7 March 2014