This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Drôme (Department, France)

Last modified: 2021-07-11 by ivan sache
Keywords: drome |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Drôme - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 9 March 2019

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 26
Region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes (Rhône-Alpes until 2014)
Traditional provinces: Dauphiné, Comtat Venaissin
Bordering departments: Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Hautes-Alpes, Ardèche, Isère, Vaucluse

Area: 6,530 km2 (excluding the enclave of Valréas, part of the department of Vaucluse)
Population (2006): 468,608 inhabitants

Préfecture: Valence
Sous-préfectures: Die, Nyons
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 36 cantons, 369 communes.

The department is named after river Drôme (110 km), a tributary to the Rhône.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Flag of Drôme

The Departmental Council flies a sky blue flag with the logo originally adopted in 2006 by the General Council (photo).

Olivier Touzeau, 9 March 2019

Flag of the former of the General Council

[Flag]         [Flag]

Former flag of the General Council, two versions - Images by Ivan Sache, 27 September 2009

The former flag of the General Council of Drôme, used until 2006 and the adoption of a new logo, was diagonally divided white-yellow by the descending diagonal, with a vertical blue stripe placed along the hoist.
The yellow triangle represents the simplified map of the departement. The blue line symbolizes the Rhône.

The flag was hoisted with other flags representing the departments of the former Region Rhône-Alpes, together with the Region's flag, in front of the seat of the former Regional Council at Charbonnières-les-Bains, near Lyon (photo, 12 February 2006).
A similar flag displayed in Bourg-de-Péage in 1999 had at hoist a white band about as large as the blue one.

Pascal Vagnat & Olivier Touzeau, 27 September 2009