This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Haute-Corse (Department, France)

Last modified: 2021-03-18 by ivan sache
Keywords: haute-corse |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 2B
Region: Corse
Traditional province: Corsica
Bordering department: Corse-du-Sud

Area: 4,666 km2
Population (2013): 170,974 inhabitants

Préfecture: Bastia
Sous-préfectures: Calvi, Corte
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 15 cantons, 236 municipalities.

The former department of Corse (20) was divided on 1 January 1976 into Corse-du-Sud (South Corsica) and Haute-Corse (Upper Corsica). The two departments already existed in 1793-1811, as Liamone and Golo (two rivers' names), respectively.

The Collectivity of Corsica was established on 1 January 2018 after the merger of the former Territorial Collectivity of Corsica with the Departemental Councils of Haute-Corse and Corse-du-Sud.

Ivan Sache, 1 January 2018