This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Indre-et-Loire (Department, France): Intermunicipal Authorities

Last modified: 2019-04-27 by ivan sache
Keywords: indre-et-loire |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Index of the Intermunicipal Authorities

  • Métropole (1)
  • Communautés de communes (10)
    • Bléré Val de Cher
    • Castelrenaudais
    • Chinon, Vienne et Loire
    • Gâtine et Choisille - Pays de Racan
    • Loches Sud Touraine
    • Touraine-Est Vallées
    • Touraine Ouest Val de Loire
    • Touraine Val de Vienne
    • Touraine Vallée de l'Indre
    • Val d'Amboise

Tours Métropole Val de Loire


Flag of Tours Métropole Val de Loire - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 16 January 2019

Tours Métropole Val de Loire (293,123 inhabitants in 2016; 39,041 ha) was created in March 2017, replacing the previous Communauté urbaine Tour(s)plus.
Tours Métropole Val de Loire consists of 22 municipalities: Tours, Ballan-Miré, Berthenay, Chambray-lès-Tours, Chanceaux-sur-Choisille, Druye, Fondettes, Joué-lès-Tours, Luynes, La Membrolle-sur-Choisille, Mettray, Notre-Dame-d'Oé, Parçay-Meslay, La Riche, Rochecorbon, Saint-Avertin, Saint-Cyr-sur-Loire, Saint-Étienne-de-Chigny, Saint-Genouph, Saint-Pierre-des-Corps, Savonnières, and Villandry.

The flag of Tours Métropole Val de Loire (photo, photo) is white with the authority's logo.

The graphic identity of Tours Métropole Val de Loire was presented on 27 June 2017 in Tours. The interim logo was minimalist, featuring the authority's name in a bold sans serif type, "TOURS / MÉTROPOLE" in deep King blue and "VAL DE LOIRE" in blue-gray.
In the definitive logo, the typography was changed to a more roundish and sweeter type, no longer all capitalized. The colors are celestial blue, green and gray, which instills a new momentum to the whole logo. The green and blue ribbons on the logo's left side represent rivers Cher and Loire, and the gardens of France, allied to form a heart. This is an elegant way to say that Tours represents the heart of Val de Loire and that landscape diversity is part of the town's identity.
Philippe Briand, President of Tours Métropole Val de Loire said that the new logo was produced by a graphic designer of Tours, for a cost of 20,000 euros.
[France Bleu Touraine, 27 June 2017; Logo News, 5 July 2017]

Olivier Touzeau & , 20 January 2019



Flag of Tour(s)plus - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 16 January 2019

The Communauté d'agglomération Tour(s)plus was created on 30 December 1999 by nine municipalities : Tours, Joué-lès-Tours, La Riche, Chambray-lès-Tours, Saint-Cyr-sur-Loire, Fondettes, Saint-Pierre-des-Corps, Ballan-Miré, and Saint-Avertin. They were joined on 1 January 2001, by anither five municipalities: Luynes, La Membrolle-sur-Choisille, Mettray, Saint-Étienne-de-Chigny, and Saint-Genouph.
On 1 January 2010, the five municipalities of the former Communauté de communes de la Confluence joined Tour(s)plus. On 1 January 2014, three municipalities left the Communauté de communes du Vouvrillon (Chanceaux-sur-Choisille, Parçay-Meslay, and Rochecorbon) to join Tour(s)plus.
The Communauté d'agglomération became a Communauté urbaine on 1 January 2017, soon transformed into a Métropole by a Decree issued on 20 March 2017.

The flag of Tour(s)plus (photo) was white with the authority's logo.

Olivier Touzeau, 16 January 2019