This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Association of Greater Manchester Authorities (England)

Last modified: 2023-08-26 by rob raeside
Keywords: association of greater manchester authorities |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

The Association of Greater Manchester Authorities

The Association of Greater Manchester Authorities (AGMA) is the local government association for Greater Manchester, a metropolitan county in North West England. The 1985 Local Government Act devolved power to local areas but also recognised that there were some functions that needed to be co-ordinated at a metropolitan level. AGMA was formed to undertake these functions. It was established in 1986 as a voluntary organisation to represent the ten district councils of Greater Manchester after the Greater Manchester County Council was abolished.
These are:
- Bolton (official websites:, and
- Bury (official websites:, and
- Manchester (official websites:, and
- Oldham (official websites:, and
- Rochdale (official websites:, and
- Salford (official websites:, and
- Stockport (official websites:, and
- Tameside (official websites:, and
- Trafford (official websites:, and
- Wigan (official websites:, and

To further increase partnership working, AGMA recently invited unitary local authorities from the surrounding areas to join AGMA as associate members. Blackburn with Darwen and Blackpool Councils have responded positively to this invitation.
Sources: and

The Greater Manchester Combined Authority was established on April 1, 2011.

Esteban Rivera, 6 July 2023


[Logo]  [Logo] images located by Esteban Rivera, 6 July 2023

Logo and name in black cropped image from "MANCHESTER 2000 : THE BRITISH OLYMPIC BID", 1992

Logo and name in purple copied from the original located here:, source:

For additional information go to AGMA (official website):

Esteban Rivera, 6 July 2023