This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Aravot HaYarden (Israel, Judea and Samaria/West Bank Occupied Territories)

Mo'atza Ezorit Aravot HaYarden, also known as Biq'at HaYarden

Last modified: 2023-01-28 by martin karner
Keywords: biq'at hayarden | aravot hayarden | yarden | judea and samaria | jordan valley | regional council | mo'atza ezorit aravot hayarden | west bank occupied territories | text: hebrew (black) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Regional Council of Biq'at ha-Yarden (Israel, West Bank Occupied Territories)]
image by Dov Gutterman | 2:3

See also:


Regional Council Biq'at HaYarden (meaning Jordan Valley, even though there is another regional council named Emeq HaYarden which also translates as Jordan Valley) is situated in the central Jordan Valley between Mehola in the north, Jericho in the south, the Jordan river in the east and the eastern sloops of Samaria Mounts in the west. It unites 18 settlements with 3,000 inh.
I obtained no answer from the Regional Council, but newspaper Ma'ariv showed a photograph of the flag, white with the municipal emblem.
Sources: Ma'ariv newspaper, 11 September 2001; this webpage.
Dov Gutterman
, 22 September 2001

The emblem of Biq'at Ha'Yarden has not been formally adopted. Israeli municipalities in areas occupied since 1967 cannot register their emblems. The reason is that those areas are not legally part of Israel and according to international law they are governed by decrees of the military commander of the areas. Many Israeli laws are in force in those municipalities when adopted there by the military commander, but the Symbols/Emblems Protection Act of 1974 is not one of them.
Dov Gutterman
, 19 January 2003

Regional Council of Biq'at HaYarden changed its name to Regional Council of Arvot HaYarden (Jordan Desert/Wilderness).
Dov Gutterman, 21 June 2003

The official name of this Regional Council was changed and now it is Regional Council of Aravot HaYarden. However, the locals still use the old name and symbols as seen at the official site.
It govern 19 settlements (Kefar Me'hola, Netiv HaGdud, Na'aran, Gilgal, Beqa'ot, Ro'ei, Gitit, Argeman, Mevo'ot Yerikho-No'am, Na'ama, Patzael, Tomer, Hamra, Yitav, Yafit, Me'hora, Mesu'a, Shadmot Me'hola, Hemdat and Rotem, most of them situated along Kevish HaBiqa'a (The Valley Road - road 90).
Dov Gutterman, 1 May 2005