This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Central European Initiative


Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: central european initiative | cei | international organizations |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[CEI flag]
image by Zoltan Horvath, 13 November 2012

See also:


The Central European Initiative (CEI) is an intergovernmental forum promoting political, economic, cultural and scientific cooperation among its Member States. Its core mission is: Regional Cooperation for European Integration.
The aim of the political cooperation is to supply the countries and their institutions with a flexible, pragmatic platform for regional cooperation, while focusing on their preparation to a future accession to the European Union (EU). The CEI is actively engaged in supporting projects in various areas of cooperation, also through the mobilisation of financial resources providing greater possibilities for studying, financing and executing national and international projects.
It was formed in Budapest in 1989, but the headquarters are based in Trieste (Italy) since 1996. Currently it has 18 member states: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine. (9 EU members, and 9 non-EU members).
Zoltan Horvath, 13 November 2012

The Flag

Its flag is blue with its golden logo consisting of its abreviation overarched by 10 stars, andwith its full English name is written under the capital letters.
Image of flag:
Logo and home page:
Zoltan Horvath
, 13 November 2012