This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eurometropolis Strasbourg-Ortenau

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: eurometropolis strasbourg-ortenau |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Strasbourg-Ortenau] image by Olivier Touzeau, 23 January 2019

See also:


The European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) is a European Union level form of transnational cooperation between countries and local authorities with legal personality (see some other regional entities in the European Union.) An EGTC must have members from at least two member states (or 1 member and 1 neighbouring country) and members can include local or regional authorities, bodies "governed by public law within the meaning of the second subparagraph of Article 1(9) of Directive 2004/18/EC", or Member States. Among then, some metropolitan areas known as Eurodistricts are EGTC:
- Strasbourg-Ortenau
- Freiburg im Breisgau-Centre et Sud Alsace
- Eurometropolis Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai
- Saar-Moselle
- Basel-Lörrach-St. Louis-Weil am Rhein
- Greater Copenhagen and Skåne

The Eurodistrict Strasbourg-Ortenau is a Franco-German eurodistrict, a European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation established on 17 October 2005 and functional since February 2010. The district is formed by the Eurométropole de Strasbourg and 3 French urban communities (of Rhinau, Erstein and Benfeld), and the Ortenau district in the Baden-Württemberg region on the German side. The district has 915,000 inhabitants on 2,368 km².

The Eurodistrict's Council is composed of 48 members, with 24 each representing either the French or the German side.
Olivier Touzeau, 23 January 2019

The Flag

The flag of the district is blue with the logo in the center, see:

Olivier Touzeau, 23 January 2019