This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eurometropolis Lille–Kortrijk–Tournai

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: eurometropolis lille–kortrijk–tournai |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of ECIPS] image by Olivier Touzeau, 11 January 2019

See also:


The European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) is a European Union level form of transnational cooperation between countries and local authorities with legal personality (see some other regional entities in the European Union.) An EGTC must have members from at least two member states (or 1 member and 1 neighbouring country) and members can include local or regional authorities, bodies "governed by public law within the meaning of the second subparagraph of Article 1(9) of Directive 2004/18/EC", or Member States. Among then, some metropolitan areas known as Eurodistricts are EGTC:
- Strasbourg-Ortenau
- Freiburg im Breisgau-Centre et Sud Alsace
- Eurometropolis Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai
- Saar-Moselle
- Basel-Lörrach-St. Louis-Weil am Rhein
- Greater Copenhagen and Skĺne

Eurometropolis Lille–Kortrijk–Tournai is a binational metropolitan area in the European Union around the French city of Lille, and the Belgian cities Kortrijk and Tournai. It covers the local regions Lille Métropole, south-eastern West Flanders (4 districts) and Wallonie Picarde (3 districts), gathering 147 municipalities in total: about 2,200,000 inhabitants on 3,589 km˛.
Olivier Touzeau, 11 January 2019

The Flag

The flag can be seen for example at the seat of the Métropole européenne de Lille. It is white with the logo of the Eurometropolis:,3.0757052,3.0761269

Olivier Touzeau, 11 January 2019