This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Union of Portuguese Language Capital Cities - UCCLA

União das Cidades Capitais Luso-Afro-Americo-Asiáticas

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: uccla | union of portuguese language capital cities |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

About the flag

The UCCLA (União das Cidades Capitais de Língua Portuguesa, English: Union of Portuguese Language Capital Cities) was first as União das Cidades Capitais Luso-Afro-Americo-Asiáticas (English: Union of Luso-Afro-American-Asian Capital Cities) on June 28, 1985 by the representatives of the cities of Lisbon, Bissau, Maputo, Praia, Rio de Janeiro, São Tomé, and Macau. It is an inter-municipal
association of international nature. Its purpose is to promote cooperation in entrepreneurship, migration issues, culture, promotion of the Portuguese language and urban issues such as public health, water and sanitation and heritage conservation.
Sources: and

Its current members (ranging from Effective Members, Associate, Observer and Supporter Members) are not only Municipalities, but also Banks, Universities' Associations, Government companies, foundations, private companies, etc.

Its flag is the logo ( over a white horizontal flag, as seen here (second flag from left to right): (source: tweet) from @CamaraLisboa).

For additional information go to UCCLA (official website):
Esteban Rivera, 25 April 2017