This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Union of Arab Maghreb

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: union of arab maghreb | arab maghreb | maghreb | morocco | algeria | tunisia | mauritania | libya |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Union of Arab Maghreb]
image by Zoltan Horvath, 07 July 2011

See also:

Union of Arab Maghreb

The Union of Arab Maghreb held a summit in Algiers (Algeria) on 21-22 June 2002. The Union was founded in 1989 and has five members: Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia.
Ivan Sache, 23 June 2002

The Flag

The Arab-Maghreb Union has a new flag. It is white with its emblem in the center of the flag. The logo itself is a slightly modified version of the previous one.I have no information about the exact date of change of flag, but these linked images were teken in the first half of 2010, and pictures taken in previous year still shows the old flag.
This new logo is taken from its website:

Images of new flag:
Zoltan Horvath, 07 July 2011

Previous Flag

[Union of Arab Maghreb]
image by Ivan Sache

According to Znamierowski, the flag of the Union is 2:3, horizontally divided red-white-green (45:10:45), with a yellow crescent pointing up in the middle of the flag and five white stars placed in an arc of circle above the crescent. The flag was adopted in 1990. Its colours are those of the member countries, which are represented by the five stars. It seems to be evident, although Zanmierowski does not explicitly state it, that the crescent symbolizes Islam, which is the official religion in the five member states. The crescent appears on the flag of Algeria, Tunisia, and Mauritania. This latter country has on its flag a crescent similar to the one shown on the Union flag. I guess this crescent was chosen because Mauritania is the only country of the Union to have a yellow element on its flag.
Ivan Sache, 23 June 2002