This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

ASEAN Schools Sports Council (ASSC)

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: asean schools sports council | assc | asia | international organization |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of ASSC] image by Ivan Sache, 2 November 2018

See also:


In 1978, the ASEAN Schools Sports Council (ASSC) was formed during a meeting in Jakarta, Indonesia. The founding members of the ASSC are Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand. The current ten member countries include Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, and Vietnam.
In 2004, the ASSC secretariat was formed. Each member country was to preside over the chairmanship of the Games on two-year terms. It was decided during a Technical Committee Meeting in Malaysia in 2007 that the ASSC sport calendar activities will be held annually.
In 2008, the ASSC celebrate 30th Anniversary at the ASEAN Schools Sports Council 58th Technical Committee Meeting and 45th Management Committee Meeting in Cebu, Philippines. This event saw the merging of the ASSC sport activities calendar into one annual games carnival, the ASEAN Schools Games.

ASEAN School Games have been organized as an independent event since 2009, as follows:
2009 upah Buri, Thailand
2010 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2011 Singapore
2012 Surabaya, Indonesia
2013 Hanoi, Vietnam
2014 Marikina, Philippines
2015 Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
2016 Chiang Mai, Thailand
2017 Singapore
22018 Shah Alam & Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 9th ASEAN School Games website
Ivan Sache, 2 November 2018

The Flag

The flag of the ASSC is white with the council's emblem.


Ivan Sache, 2 November 2018