This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Carpegna-Scavolino (Marche, Italy)

Last modified: 2023-11-18 by rob raeside
Keywords: carpegna-scavolino |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Principality of Scavolino (1550-1797/1819)

image located by Ben Cahoon, 30 October 2023

Principality of Scavolino is mentioned here as is the flag of the dynasty that ruled Scavolino to 1731 and 1817-1819:

Scavolino timeline:

1460 County of Scavolino (Contea di Scavolino), under the Carpegna (from 1731, Orsini) dynasty.
1484 Under Papal suzerainty.
12 May 1685 Counts made Princes of the Holy Roman Empire (title Principato di Scavolino) by Emperor Leopold I,.
Feb 1731 Dispute settled by joint suzerainty of the Emperor and the Pope.
1738 - 1741 Occupied by Tuscany (and again 1749-1754).
17 Oct 1797 By the Treaty of Campo Formio, the Emperor Francis II renounces the fief.
11 May 1808 - 1814 Annexed to the Kingdom of Italy (along with the Papal province of Urbino).
1814 Principality of Scavolino (restored).
May 1817 Scavolino re-inherited by the Counts of Carpegna.
21 May 1819 Ceded to the Papal State.

Flag of the Carpengna dynasty to 1731, 1817-19
Carpegna is now a municipality within Pesaro e Urbino province, Marche region, Italy

The Principality of Scavolino shows up near San Marino on this excellent map of Italian states in 1789:

That map also shows some other small states that survived to 1797
County of Vernio 1107-1797/1798 to Tuscany
Marquisate of Tresana 1355-1797 to Sardinia
Marquisate of Mulazzo 1550-1797 to Tuscany
Marquisate of Podenzana and Aulla 1528-1795 to Sardinia
Marquisate of Olivola 1525-1797 to Sardinia
Marquisate of Soragna 1357-1797 to Parma
Seven Communes Federation (Sette Comuni/Lega delle Sette Terre Sorelle) 1310-1807 < >

Ben Cahoon, 30 October 2023