This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website


Republic of Kyrgyzstan, Kyrgyz Respublikasy, Kirghizia

Last modified: 2024-07-06 by victor lomantsov
Keywords: kyrgyzstan | karakirghiz | asia | commonwealth of independent states | yurt | tent | sun | forty | tunduk |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

On this page: See also:

University of Central Asia (UCA)

"The University of Central Asia (UCA) was founded in 2000. The presidents of Tajikistan, the Kyrgyz Republic and Kazakhstan and His Highness the Aga Khan signed the International Treaty and Charter establishing this secular, not-for-profit, private university that was ratified by the respective parliaments and registered with the United Nations."
Sources: and

Its flag is the logo ( ) over a white horizontal flag as seen here (first flag from left to right): (source:
For additional information go to UCA (official website) -
Esteban Rivera, 17 April 2017

International University of Central Asia (IUCA)

"The International University of Central Asia was established in 2008". Source: <>a href=""> The flag is a horizontal flag with the logo ( as seen here: (source:
For additional information go to IUCA (official website) -
Esteban Rivera, 18 April 2017

Ala-Too International University

[Ala-Too University flag] by Ivan Sache

Ala-Too International University (AIU) was established in 1996 in Bishkek by a cooperative educational agreement signed between the Ministry of Education and Culture of the Kyrgyz Republic and the Sapat Educational Organization. AIU is composed of 4 Faculties (Economics and Administrative Sciences, Social Sciences, New Technologies, and Medicine).
The university's namesake is Kyrgyz Ala-Too, a mountain range that spreads over Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan. Bishkek's central square, established in 1984 as Lenin Square, was renamed to Ala-Too square in 1991. The square was a main site of the March 2005 Tulip Revolution, which resulted in the resignation and exile of President Askar Askayev.
AIU was originally known as International Atatürk-Alatoo University (IAAU), founded by the Sebat Educational Organization. an academic organization inspired by Fethullah Gülen. In the aftermath of the aborted coup of 15 June 2016 in Turkey, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan put pressure on Kyrgyzstan to close down the 36 educational institutes operated by Sebat - as was done with 15 Turkish universities for alleged links with the Fethullahist Terrorist Organization (FETÖ, the name given to the Gülen movement by the Turkish government). Kyrgyzstan did not comply with Turkey's demand, renaming Sebat to Sapat and the university to AIU.
[The Irish Times, 5 August 2016]
The flag of AIU is white with the university's emblem.
AIU website
Ivan Sache, 7 June 2018

Kyrgyz Turkish Manas University (KTMU)

[Manas university flag] by Ivan Sache

The university's namesake is the Kyrgyz epic "Manas". The monumental epic Manas is the most treasured expression of the national heritage of the Kyrgyz people. Composed and sung entirely in oral form by various singers throughout the centuries, Manas is regarded as the epitome of oral creativity. Today there are about sixty versions of the epic Manas recorded from various epic singers and oral poets. Its longest version, consisting of half a million (500553) poetic lines, was written down from one of the last master-manaschi (singers of Manas) Saiakbai Karalaev (1894-1971). The epic is indeed unique in its size. It is twenty times longer than the Homeric epics Iliad (15693) and Odyssey (12110) taken together and two and a half times the length of the Indian epic Mahabharata. The epic Manas is a trilogy, "a biographical cycle of three generations of heroes, i.e., Manas, his son Semetei and grandson Seitek."
Manas website (with translations), by Elmira Kocumkulkizi
The flag of KTMU is white with the university's emblem.
KTMU website
Ivan Sache, 7 June 2018