This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mauritian Militant Movement (Mauritius)

Last modified: 2015-07-28 by ian macdonald
Keywords: mauritian militant movement | mmm | mouvement militant mauricien | heart (white) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

MMM party flag
image by António Martins, 10 Jul 2008
See also: External links:

About the flag

A photography of a demonstration, shown on the party’s website, confirms that purple is the party’s colour (and has been so since the creation of the party). The MMM flag seems to be purple with the party emblem, a heart, and acronym, all white.
Ivan Sache, 06 Jul 2008

About the party

The Mauritian Militant Movement (in French, Mouvement Militant Mauricien, MMM) was founded in 1969 in Quatre Bornes by Maurice Lesage, Kher Jagatsingh, Jooneed Jeerooburkhan and Paul Bérenger (b. 1945), as the successor of the Club des Étudiants Militants. In 1970, the MMM won a by-election, Dev Virahsawmy winning 72% of the shares of the votes. The MMM appeared as the “third force”, beside the Mauritius Labour Party (MLP) and the Mauritian Social Democrat Party (in French, Parti Mauricien Social Démocrate, PMSD). In the 1976 general elections, the MMM won 40% of the shares of the votes and 34 seats in the Parliament, but the MLP and the PMSD set up an alliance to exclude the MMM from the government.

In 1982, the MMM allied with the Mauritian Socialist Party (in French, Parti Socialiste Mauricien, PSM) and won the general election with 60% of the shares of the votes and all the 60 seats of the Parliament (an event known since then as "60-0"), ending the rule of Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, the Father of the Nation. The MMM-PSM alliance broke in 1983 and the MMM joined the opposition; the party won the general elections with 46% of the shares of the votes and 19 seats, being still the first Mauritian political party. In 1987, the MMM allied with the Democrat Workers’ Movement (in French, Mouvement des Travailleurs Démocrates, MTD) and the Social Workers’ Front (in French, Front des Travailleurs Sociaux, FTS) and won 47.5% of the shares of the votes, losing against the MSM (Militant Socialist Movement; in French, Mouvement Socialiste Militant, a split from MMM) - MLP-PMSD coalition.

In 1991, the alliance MMM-MSM won 56% of the shares of the votes and 57 seats in the Parliament. The MMM’s leader, Paul Bérenger, was appointed Minister of the Foreign Affairs. In 1993, Paul Béranger and other ministers form the MMM were fired. The MMM joined back the opposition while dissidents formed the Mauritian Militant Renewal (in French, Renouveau Militant Mauritien, RMM) still supporting the MSM government. The MMM set up an alliance with the MLP, which won the 1995 elections with a "60-0". Paul Bérenger was appointed Vice Prime Minister and there were another 13 ministers from the MMM.

In 1997, Paul Bérenger was fired and the MMM joined back the opposition. In 2000, the National Alliance (in French, Alliance Nationale) set up by the MMM with the MSM, the PMSD and the Greens won 54 seats in the Parliament; as stated in the agreeemnt between the MMM and the MSM, Paul Bérenger became Prime Minister in 2003. In 2005, the MSM-MMM alliance was defeated by the Social Alliance (in French, Alliance Sociale) set up by the MLP and Paul Bérenger became the Chief of the Opposition but resigned in 2006 following problems with the MSM.

Ivan Sache, 06 Jul 2008

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.