This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mid Western Region, Nigeria (1963 - 1966)

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: mid western region | nigeria | lion | horse | spear |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Mid Western Region] image by Jens Pattke, 08 July 2006

See also:

Mid Western Region (1963-1966)

The Mid Western Region was an administrative division of Nigeria. It was formed in June 1963 from the Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region, and its capital was Benin City. It was re-named a province in 1966, and in 1967 when the other provinces were split up into several states, it remained territorially intact and became Mid Western State.

In 1976 the state was renamed Bendel, which was later subdivided into Delta and Edo in 1991.

Prior to 1970, all of the Nigerian states had their own coats of arms and flags. The state flag was modeled on the Nigerian national flag but with the state coat of arms in the centre of the white stripe. These state flags were adopted in 1967 and abolished in 1970. Since 1970 only the Nigerian national coat of arms and national flag may be used as symbol of a state. The Coat of Arms and the flag of Mid Western Region were granted on 19 May 1964 by Royal Warrant by the former colonial power, the United Kingdom.
Enzyklopädie der staatlichen Wappen und Flaggen (Encyclopaedia of  State Coat of Arms and State Flags), Volume 7.
Jens Pattke, 08 July 2006