This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nicaragua - National Parties no longer registered

Last modified: 2021-06-12 by rob raeside
Keywords: nicaragua |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Unión Nacional Opositora

[Flag of Unión Nacional Opositora] image by Ivan Sache, 15 May 2021

Unión Nacional Opositora (UNO) was established on 6 June 1989 by 14 parties:
- Partido Liberal Independiente (PLI)
- Partido Liberal Constitucionalista (PLC)
- Partido Neoliberal (PALI)
- Acción Nacional Conservadora (ANC)
- Partido Nacional Conservador (PNC)
- Alianza Popular Conservadora (APC)
- Partido Popular Social Cristiano (PPSC)
- Partido Democrático de Confianza Nacional (PDCN)
- Partido de Acción Nacional (PAN)
- Movimiento Democrático Nicaragüense (MDN)
- Partido Social Demócrata (PSD)
- Partido Socialista Nicaragüense (PSN)
- Partido Comunista de Nicaragua (PCdeN)
- Partido Integracionista América Central (PIAC).
The UNO defeated the FSNL in the 1990 general elections. Violeta Barrios de Chamorro was elected President of the Republic while Virgilio Godoy, leader of the PLI, was elected Vice-President. The UNO secured 52 out of the 90 seats at the National Assembly.

United only in the opposition to the Sandinistas, UNO progressively broke out during Violeta Chamorro's term.
Enrique Bolaños Biblioteca

The flag of UNO was white with the blue letters "UNO".


Ivan Sache, 15 May 2021

Movimiento Renovador Sandinista

[Flag of Movimiento Renovador Sandinista] image by Ivan Sache, 15 May 2021

The Movimiento Renovador Sandinista (MRS) was established on 21 May 1995 as a splinter of the FSLN. The party was renamed to Unión Democrática Renovadora (UNAMOS) during its 9th National Convention held in January 2021.

The flag of the MRS was identical to the party logo, orange with a hat outlined in black and the black letters "MRS".


Ivan Sache, 15 May 2021

Partido Acción Ciudadana

[Flag of Partido Acción Ciudadana] image by Ivan Sache, 15 May 2021

The Partido Acción Ciudadana (PAC) was cancelled on 17 June 2016 by the Supreme Court of Justice following a dispute between two factions that claimed leadership on the party.

The flag of the PAC was blue with the yellow letters "PAC" in the center.


Ivan Sache, 15 May 2021