This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Veldhoven (The Netherlands)

Noord-Brabant province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: veldhoven |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Veldhoven municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 13 Sep 1988; design: L.L.J. de Bever

See also:

Veldhoven municipality

At this website is an explanation of flag and arms of Veldhoven municipality, Noord-Brabant province:

"The first flag of Veldhoven was yellow with four black lozenges. These corresponded with the four parishes which constituted the present municipality. This flag was replaced by municipal resolution of 13 Sep 1988 by a more modern design. The presentation of this new flag took place on the occasion of the opening of the new municipal building. Top and bottom of that flag are rows of red and white squares, derived from the Noord-Brabant provincial flag. The central field is light blue with the municipal arms in the center.
Design by L.L.J. de Bever"

There is another flag, which Sierksma, in "Nederlands Vlaggenboek", 1962 describes:
"Quartered of red with a yellow waterlilyleaf and white with a mill-iron.
This flag was adopted by municipal resolution on 9 Apr 1962. The quarters refer to the four parishes of Veldhoven, Meerveldhoven, Oerle, and Zeelst, which together form the municipality of Veldhoven. The historical connection of Oerle and Meerveldhoven on the one hand, and Veldhoven and Zeelst on the other hand is emphasized by the equality of the flag-quarters. The emblems and colors are derived from elements which belong to the renewed municipal arms".

Shipmate presents 1962-1969 for the quartered flag, and 1969-1988 for the yellow flag with lozenges (which was not the first, as the mentioned website implies).
Jan Mertens, 24 Sep 2003

Historical flags

former Veldhoven Shipmate Flagchart :
used 1962-1969

Old Veldhoven Shipmate Flagchart :
used 1969-1988

Veldhoven Coat of Arms

[Veldhoven Coat of Arms] from the Veldhoven municipal website.
granted 3 Jul 1969

"The four lozenges in chief symbolize the four old villages Meerveldhoven, Oerle, Veldhoven and Zeelst. The colors in chief are
those of the Kempen-region, in which Veldhoven lies. The golden crown of three leaves and two pearls refer to the old ducal domain, to which the villages belonged. This domain was later pawned to noble families like De Borchgrave (Oerle and Meerveldhoven), and Van Eijck (Zeelst and Veldhoven)".
Jan Mertens, 24 Sep 2003

The crown is the usual municipal crown - the website's explanation is a bit far-fetched.
Willem van Ham, 26 Sep 2003