This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Domburg (The Netherlands)

Veere municipality, Zeeland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: domburg |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

former Domburg Shipmate Flagchart :

See also:

Domburg [former municipality]

On 1 Jan 1997 Domburg became part of Veere municipality.
The former municipalities of Domburg and Oostkapelle merged to form the new municipality of Domburg in 1966, a small part of Oostkapelle went to Mariekerke. In 1979 the population was 3.900 on an area of 22.56 km².

Domburg old flag

[Domburg old flag]

Domburg (independent municipality 1811-1966, with 1400 inhabitants) - it's a major bathing resort at present - don't forget your German dictionary.
Flag: blue, divided in three horizontal stripes proportioned 2:5:2, separated by two narrow, at least three times wavy stripes, with on the central stripe at the hoist a white castle.
This flag was adopted in principle in May 1962 by the municipal council. Color and motive were derived from the municipal arms, to which have been added the wavy stripes.
Jarig Bakker, 30 Oct 2003

Oostkapelle [former municipality]

former Oostkapelle Shipmate Flagchart :

Oostkapelle was an independent municipality 1811-1966. It had 1600 inhabitants.
Flag: five equally wide horizontal stripes of blue and yellow.
This flag was adopted 11 Sep 1956 by municipal resolution. It is identical to the municipal arms.
Source: Sierksma's Nederlands Vlaggenboek, 1962 [sie62].