This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lambayeque Region (Peru)

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: lambayeque |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Lambayeque reg. flag image by António Martins, 19 Apr 2006
See also:

Description of the flag

The flag of the Region of Lambayeque in Peru is presented on line. Designer of the flag is José Ibáñez Castañeda.
Valentin Poposki, 23 Feb 2006

Lambayeque is the name of a river (aka Chancay), of a region, of a province, of a district, of a town and of a pre-Hispanic culture (aka Sicán).
The Lambayeque Region (1,112,868 inhabitants in 2007; 14,231 sq. km), located in north-western, coastal Peru, was founded on 1 December 1874. It is made of the three Provinces of Chiclayo (20 districts), Ferreñafe (6 districts) and Lambayeque (12 districts); the regional capital is the town of Chiclayo (574,408 inhabitants in 2007).
The flag of the Lambayeque Region, designed by José Ibáñez Castañeda, is horizontally divided yellow-red - the colours of the Lambayeque culture - with the regional shield in the middle.
The shield of the Lambayeque Region is divided into three quarters:
- The upper quarter shows on a background argent a torch, surmounted by the Latin motto "LUCIS GLORIAM ET HONORIS", representing the modern honour and intellectual values;
- The lower left quarter shows five blue waves on a background argent, representing the resources of the sea and power;
- The lower right quarter shows an American carob tree (Prosopis pallida (Humb. & Bonpl. ex Wild.) Kunth) proper on a background or, representing the natural resources.
The shield is hold by a masked and costumed character, maybe alluding to the "diablada" traditional dance.
Source: Regional website, symbols' page
Ivan Sache, 29 May 2010

Coat of arms

Lambayeque reg. CoAimage by António Martins, 19 Apr 2006


Possible former flag

Lambayeque reg. CoA image located by Jaume Olle, 29 August 2016

This photo is of the regional flag of Lambayeque, red-yellow-blue with arms in the yellow stripe. These were the colors of the flag of the region about 1992, reported in fact as blue-yellow-red (possibly a mistake due to hoisting upside-down) that I believe stand for the three provinces: Lambayeque (red), Chiclayo (light blue) and Ferreñafe (yellow). In Huaca del Oro, Batán Grande, were discovered in 1953 some old pictures showing them red, yellow and blue. Also the three colors can be for courage (red), wisdom (blue) and instinct (yellow).

Lambayeque was part of the region of northeastern Marañon. From 1992 the CTARs were established instead of regions and it seems that Lambayeque then adopted this tricolored flag; the new flag was adopted not before 2003 and surely not later than 2007.

This image came from Facebook. As Facebook deletes the meta dates of all photos posted I don't know when this photo was taken. In Peru when three flags are hoisted, at the left is the local flag, in the center the state flag, and at the right the provincial or regional flag. The photo was taken in Pitipo; it can't be the provincial (Ferreñafe) flag because that is monocolored and well known, so it must be the regional flag. I speculate with two possibilities:
a) This photo is about 2005 (when the regional bicolored flag was adopted) or before, with the old regional flag still in use.
b) This photo is from the last few years, and Lambayeque has changed flag (less probable).
Jaume Olle, 29 August 2016