This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lousã Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Lousã, Distrito de Coimbra

Last modified: 2016-08-06 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: lousa | bend(wavy) | millwheel | wheat(sheaf) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Lousã municipality] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 18 Jan 2007
See also:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a yellow and blue quarterly (town rank) background.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 18 Jan 2007

Coat of arms

[Lousã municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 18 Jan 2007

Shield Sable, flanking a bend wavy Argent charged with a bend wavy Azure, an eight-spoked watermill wheel Or in chief sinister and a sheaf of wheat Or tied Vert in point dexter. Mural crown Argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "VILA DA LOUSÃ".
António Martins-Tuválkin, 18 Jan 2007

Flag and coat of arms published in the official journal Diário do Governo : I Série on 2 July 1931
António Martins-Tuválkin, 18 Jan 2007

Version without Coat of Arms

[Lousã municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

Presentation of Lousã

Lousã municipality had 17 604 inhabitants in 2011, and it consists of 4 communes, covering 138.4 km². It is part of Coimbra District traditional province and 1999 ref. adm. region Beira Litoral, C.C.R. / NUTS II Centro, and NUTS III Pinhal Interior Norte.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 31 July 2016

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here