This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Efate Natatok Alliance Party (Vanuatu)

Last modified: 2021-05-15 by ian macdonald
Keywords: efate natatok alliance party | stars: 4 (white) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Efate Natalok Alliance Party (Vanuatu)] image by Olivier Touzeau, 4 April 2021

See also:


Source: From the New Hebrides to Vanuatu: A Vexillological Excursion], by Michel Lupant 14th International Congress of Vexilology, Barcelona - 30 June-5 July 1991 [Lup91]

On January 11, 1978, the first government was formed by the moderate parties, under the chairmanship of Georges Kalsakau, of the Natatok party. This party had been founded by G. Kalsakau on July 12, 1977. The Natatok Efate ("Natives of Vate") exerted its influence on island of Vate and on the neighboring islands. The flag represents the beauty of the nation (light blue background), the vigilance and the will of the citizens (the two thin red bands), the Melanesian population (central black band). The 4 white stars represent the 4 districts of the country.
On April 5, 1978 the Kalsakau government and the opponents of Vanuaaku Pati concluded a truce, the GPPV suspended its activities. On December 22, 1978, a government of national unity was formed. Gerard Leymang, of the Tan Union party, Catholic priest, one of the best "political heads" of the Francophone Melanesian community, is elected Chief Minister. (Chief Minister) Pastor Walter Uni, leader of Vanuaaku Pati, is appointed Deputy Chief Minister. This government is responsible for drawing up a constitution.

Olivier Touzeau, 4 April 2021