This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council (Canada)

First Nation

Last modified: 2020-03-24 by rick wyatt
Keywords: canada | first nation | dakota ojibway tribal council |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council flag] image by Valentin Poposki, 17 January 2020

See also:

Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council

Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council was established in Brandon, Manitoba in August 1974, which essentially involved the South West Region of Manitoba Indian Brotherhood. The Original purpose and intent of DOTC was to take over the delivery of programs from the Brandon District Office of INAC. Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council adopted the following objective: “To facilitate the development of Reserve Government at the pace decided upon by each member Reserve; by making sure there is total participation in direction of obtaining adequate funds in accordance to the needs of member Reserves; assisting in transferring authority, responsibility of activities to the communities; providing a vehicle by which the communities assist each other in all aspects of Reserve development; assisting in the creation of a method of operation acceptable to the members of the Tribal Council which is consistent with the responsibility and obligations of the Government of Canada”. In 1974 the initial Administrative Unit of the DOTC comprised of one receptionist, one executive secretary, two government advisors and one technical services personnel. Since 2002, the DOTC Administrative Unit consisted of one Chief Executive Officer, one Director of Finance, three finance clerks, one executive assistant and two executive secretaries. As of August 2009, the position of Director of Operations was reinstated. DOTC is the predecessor of all existing Tribal Councils in Canada.

The minutes and incorporation documents identify 10 First Nations at the founding meeting: 1.Sandy Bay First Nation 2. Roseau River Anishnabe First Nation 3. Swan Lake First Nation 4. Long Plain First Nation 5. Dakota Plains First Nation 6. Sioux Valley Dakota Nation 7. Birdtail Sioux First Nation 8. Dakota Tipi First Nation 9. Valley River Fisrt Nation (Tootinaowaziibeeng) 10. Oak Lake Sioux First Nation (Canupawakpa Dakota Nation. DOTC was formally incorporated with a letter of patent from the Province of Manitoba on August 18, 1974.

Today DOTC has 7 First Nations members - Birdtail Sioux First Nation, Dakota Tipi First Nation, Long Plain First Nation, Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation Government, Sandy Bay First Nation, Swan Lake First Nation, and Waywayseecappo First Nation Treaty Four 1874.
Valentin Poposki, 17 January 2020

Red flag

The DOTC flag is white with the logo on it. It can be seen on the photos of the council of chiefs (photo archived)
Valentin Poposki, 17 January 2020