This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Walloon Brabant (Province, Belgium)

Brabant Wallon, Waals-Brabant

Last modified: 2013-12-28 by ivan sache
Keywords: walloon brabant | brabant wallon | waals-brabant | wallonia | lion (yellow) | roosters: 2 (red) | governor |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Walloon Brabant]

Flag of Walloon Brabant - Image by Gerard van der Vaart, 24 August 2000

See also:

Presentation of Walloon Brabant

In the Middle Ages, the main language spoken in Brabant was medieval Dutch, called Dietsch or Thiois, whereas the southern part of the Duchy was called the "Roman Pays", where several Latin dialects were spoken.
In 1970, the historical Brabant was split into the three newly created regions (Flemish Region, Walloon Region, Brussels), and into the French Community and the Dutch Community. The St. Michel's agreement signed in September 1992 prescribed the division of Brabant into two provinces, the Flemish Brabant and the Walloon Brabant, Brussels being not included in the new provinces. On 30 May 1993, the Federal State, the three Regions and the two Communities signed a cooperation agreement.
The province of Brabant was officially replaced by the two provinces of Flemish Brabant and Walloon Brabant on 1 January 1995.

Ivan Sache, 11 March 2006

Flag of Walloon Brabant

The flag and arms of the Province of Walloon Brabant were adopted by the Provincial Council on 2 January 1995.

The arms of the Walloon Brabant are:
Sable a lion or armed and langued gules chaped or two roosters gules, the shield surmounted by a Ducal coronet (added later).

The flag is a banner of the province arms, prescribed in 13:15 proportion (like the Belgian national flag) but often used in 2:3 proportion.

Source: M. Lupant. Flags and coat of arms of the Kingdom of Belgium [lup98]

Ivan Sache, 11 March 2006

Honorary flag of the Governor of Walloon Brabant

[Governor's flag]

Honorary flag of the Governor of Walloon Brabant - Image by Mark Sensen, 27 January 2001

The honorary flags of the Province Governors were adopted by Council Order on 28 October 1936. They are shown with construction details on a book (bilingual Dutch and French) containing regulations (for the Navy?). Each flag is a square version of the Belgian national flag with the respective province arms in the center of the black stripe. The flag is 150 x 150 cm, therefore each stripe is 50 cm in width. The shield is 43.5 cm in width and 50 cm in height, excluding 3.75 cm for the point of the shield.
After the split of Brabant, the flag of the Governor of Walloon Brabant was designed according to the 1936 template.

Mark Sensen, 27 January 2001