This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Haßberge County (Unterfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Haßberge, Hassberge County

Last modified: 2012-03-31 by german editorial team
Keywords: landkreis haßberge | haßberge county | hassberge county | coat of arms: per pale (per fess dancetty) | coat of arms: per pale (lion: black) | coat of arms: base (crancelin: green) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Haßberge County (Unterfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)]
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag adopted 1 August 1974

See also:


Red-yellow-green stripes, adopted 01.08.1974. The seat of the county is Haßfurt (Hassfurt). Haßfurt county was united with Ebern and Hofheim counties to form the new county Haßberg under the 1972 municipal reform. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Linder and Olzog 1996.

The names Hassberge/Hassfurt are not derived from the modern word Hass (hatred). Hassfurt does have a hare (German Hase) in its arms, but when I visited the town last year I was told that the name comes from the small river Nassach. How the 'N' became an 'H' is still a mystery to me, though.

Stefan Schwoon, 9 October 2001

Stefan Schwoon, 15 August and 9 October 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms are a combination of the arms of Hassfurt and Ebern (upper part) and Hofheim (lower part).

Literature: Linder and Olzog 1996.

Santiago Dotor, 27 January 2004