This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ebern County until 1972 (Unterfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Ebern

Last modified: 2012-03-31 by german editorial team
Keywords: landkreis ebern | ebern county | coat of arms: per pale (lion: black) | coat of arms: per pale (lion: rampant) | coat of arms: per pale (per fess dancetty) | coat of arms: chief (bendlets wavy: blue) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Ebern County until 1972 (Unterfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)] 5:2
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag and coat-of-arms adopted 2nd October 1963, abolished 30th June 1972

See also:


Blue-white-black, adopted 02.10.1963. The county became part of the new county Haßberge under the 1972 municipal reform. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Stadler 1964-1972.

Stefan Schwoon, 15 August 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on October 2, 1963. The largest part of the district historically belonged to either the Bishops of Würzburg, or the Bishops of Bamberg. Therefore the lower part of the arms shows the lion of Bamberg and the points of Würzburg. The upper part of the arms shows the symbol for the remaining area, the area around Baunach. The three waves are taken from the arms of Baunach and symbolise the Main, Itz and Baunach rivers.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1972.

Santiago Dotor, 16 July 2003