This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Erlangen County until 1972 (Mittelfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Erlangen

Last modified: 2012-03-31 by german editorial team
Keywords: landkreis erlangen | erlangen county | coat of arms (bordure: compony) | coat of arms (bordure: red-white) | coat of arms (wheel: blue) | coat of arms (watermill: blue) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Erlangen County until 1972 (Mittelfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)]
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag and coat-of-arms adopted 6th March 1964, abolished 30th June 1972

See also:


Blue-yellow, adopted 06.03.1964. During the 1972 municipal reform, the county was united with the (previously Upper Franconian) county Höchstadt to form the new county Erlangen-Höchstadt. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Stadler 1964-1972.

Stefan Schwoon, 20 August 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on March 6, 1964. The county is a combination of two main historical territories. A major part of the county was ruled by the Markgraves of Brandenburg-Bayreuth and the border in the arms is taken from the arms of the viscounts. The colours [of the bordure] are taken from the arms of the city of Nuremberg, who ruled the other part of the county. The wheel symbolises the many water mills in the Regnitz river in the county.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1972.

Santiago Dotor, 30 July 2003