This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Fuerteventura Island (Canary Islands, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-03-07 by ivan sache
Keywords: fuerteventura | canary islands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Fuerteventura, as seen on 4 February 2014 on the Town Hall of Betancuria - Image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 12 February 2014

See also:

Flag of Fuerteventura

The flag of Fuerteventura is in proportions 1:2, vertically divided green-white with the island's coat of arms is in the centre of the flag.
The flag did not recieve any official approval.

The coat of arms of Fuerteventura is prescribed by a Decree adopted on 15 October 1998 by the Government of the Canary Islands and published on 11 November 1998 in the official gazette of the Canary Islands, No. 142, pp. 13,432-13,433 (text). The coat of arms was initially adopted on 24 April 1998 by the Island Council and validated on 18 September 1998 by the Heraldry Commission of the Canary Islands.
The coat of arms is described as follows:

Coat of arms: Per fess, 1a. Gules a castle or masoned sable port and windows azure, 1b. Argent a lion gules crowned armed and langued or, 2. Argent three fesses checky gules and or of four pieces charged with a barrulet or. A bordure gules eight saltires or. The shield surmounted by a Royal crown.

According to José Manuel Erbez (Banderas y escudos de Canarias, 2007; website), the coat of arms is a modification of the arms of the island's provincial militia. The upper quarters represent Castile, symbolized by a castle, and León, symbolized by a lion. The lower quarter alludes to the Saavedra family. Various members of this family were rulers of Fuerteventura.

Klaus-Michael Schneider & Ivan Sache, 12 February 2014

Municipalities in Fuerteventura

| Antigua |
| Betancuria |
| La Oliva |
| Pájara | Puerto del Rosario |
| Tuineje |