This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Province of Las Palmas (Canary Islands, Spain)

Last modified: 2018-10-07 by ivan sache
Keywords: las palmas |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Province flag]

Flag of the Province of Las Palmas - Image by Jens Pattke, 20 January 2002

See also:

Presentation of the Province of Las Palmas

The Province of Las Palmas (1,096,980 inhabitants in 2010; 4,068 sq. km) is made of the islands of Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote, and of the six minor islands of Alegranza, La Graciosa, Montaña Clara, Isla de Lobos, Roque del Este and Roque del Oeste.

Ivan Sache, 26 October 2013

Flag of the Province of Las Palmas

According to Banderas y Escudos de las provincias de España [e9s92], published by the Ministry for Public Administrations, the flag of the Province of Las Palmas is vertically divided blue-white with the provincial coat of arms in the middle.

Falko Schmidt, 20 January 2002

Municipalities in the Province of Las Palmas

| Agaete | Agüimes | La Aldea de San Nicolás | Antigua | Arrecife | Artenara | Arucas |
| Betancuria |
| Firgas |
| Gáldar |
| Haría |
| Ingenio |
| Mogán | Moya |
| La Oliva |
| Pájara | Las Palmas de Gran Canaria | Puerto del Rosario |
| San Bartolomé | San Bartolomé de Tirajana | Santa Brígida | Santa Lucía de Tirajana | Santa María de Guía de Gran Canaria |
| Teguise | Tejeda | Telde | Teror | Tías | Tinajo | Tuineje |
| Valleseco | Valsequillo de Gran Canaria | Vega de San Mateo |
| Yaiza |

University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

[Flag]         [Flag]

Flag and coat of arms of ULPGC - Images by José Carlos Alegria and Santiago Dotor, respectively, 20 February 2002

The symbols of ULPGC are prescribed in Article 8 of the university's Statutes, part of Decree No. 107, adopted on 1 August 2016 by the Government of the Canary Islands and published on 9 August 2016 in the official gazette of the Canary Islands, No. 153, pp. 22,711-22,766 (text).
The symbols are described as follows.

ULPGC shall have as its representative symbols the coat of arms, the logotype, the seal, the medal and the flag, which shall be approved by the Senate, except the logotype, whose regulation belongs to the Council of Government. The representative symbols of the constituting structures shall be approved by the Council of Government, on proposal by the interested structures and with information provided to the Board in the next session.
The coat of arms of ULPGC is circular, featuring in the background an astrolabe, and, in a off-centered design, the shield of the seven Canary Islands surrounded by the motto "Ad orbem per technicam" [To the World Through Technics]. The name of the institution, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, is placed on the outer ring of the circle.

The flag is brown with the university's coat of arms.

José Carlos Alegria, Santiago Dotor & Ivan Sache, 19 March 2018