This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Estuaire Province (Gabon)

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: estuaire | gabon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

See also:


Estuaire Province covers an area of 20,740 km² and has 895.000 inhabitants (2013).  The provincial capital is Libreville, which is also the national capital.  The province is named for the Gabon Estuary, which is at the heart of the province.  Estuaire  was initially divided into 6 departments:
- Komo (Kango)
- Komo-Mondah (Ntoum)
- Noya (Cocobeach)
- Cap Estérias (Cap Estérias)
- Komo-Océan (Ndzomoe)
- Libreville (department & capital city).

However, in 2013 , Cap-Estérias department was suppressed and absorbed by Komo-Mondah department. So Estuaire is now divided in 5 departments.
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

Description of the flag

The provincial flag, as seen during the 2016 inauguration of the President of Gabon, is white with the provincial coat-of-arms occupying 4/5 of the height in the centre.

According to Heraldry of the World, the estuary formed by the rivers Ramboé and Como is symbolised by the azure point. The billets stand for the transportation of timber on the rivers.
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016