This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Haut-Ogooué Province (Gabon)

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: haut ogooue | gabon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jens Pattke, 29 Dec 2016

See also:


Haut-Ogooué Province is named after the Ogooué River. It covers an area of 36,547 km² and has 250.000 inhabitants (2013). The provincial capital is Franceville.  One of its primary industries is mining, with manganese, gold and uranium also being found in the region.
Haut-Ogooué is divided into 8 departments:
- Djoue (Onga)
- Djououri-Aguilli (Bongoville)
- Lekoni-Lekori (Akieni)
- Lekoko (Bakoumba)
- Lemboumbi-Leyou (Moanda)
- Mpassa (Franceville)
- Plateaux (Leconi)
- Sebe-Brikolo (Okondja).
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

Description of the flag

The provincial flag, as seen during the 2016 inauguration of the President of Gabon, is white with the provincial coat-of-arms occupying 4/5 of the height in the centre.

According to Heraldry of the World, the arms symbolise the mining and cultivation of coffee in the area.
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016