This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ngounié Province (Gabon)

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: ngounié | gabon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jens Pattke, 29 Dec 2016

See also:


Ngounié Province covers an area of 37,750 km² and has 100,000 inhabitants (2013).  The provincial capital is Mouila. The province is named after the Ngounié river, which crosses it with its many tributaries.
Ngounié is divided into 9 departments:
- Boumi-Louetsi (Mbigou)
- Dola (Ndendé)
- Douya-Onoy (Mouila)
- Louetsi-Bibaka (Malinga)
- Louetsi-Wano (Lebamba)
- Mougalaba (Guietsou)
- Ndolou (Mandji)
- Ogoulou (Mimongo)
- Tsamba-Magotsi (Fougamou).
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

Description of the flag

The provincial flag, as seen during the 2016 inauguration of the President of Gabon, is white with the provincial coat-of-arms occupying 4/5 of the height in the centre.

According to Heraldry of the World, the gold colour stands for the richness of the mines in the district, the mask for traditional art and crafts. The chief recalls the colour of coffee which is produced here. The lozenges represents the diamond mining in the district, their number stands for the districts of the region (so probably before 1975 administrative reform).
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

So the coat of arms of Ngounié was modified in 1975 following territorial reform : it then had seven departments.  Between 1996 and 2000, to more departments were created (according to  Louetsi-Bibaka department split from Boumi-Louetsi and Mougalaba department split from Douya-Onoye, but the chief of the arms was not modified to 9 lozenges and remains at 7.
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016