This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nyanga Province (Gabon)

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: nyanga | gabon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

See also:


Nyanga Province is named after the Nyanga River. It covers an area of 21,285 kmē and has 53,000 inhabitants (2013). The provincial capital is Tchibanga.
Nyanga is divided into 4 departments:
- Basse-Banio (Mayumba)
- Douigni (Moabi)
- Haute-Banio (Ndindi)
- Mougoutsi (Tchibanga).
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

Description of the flag

The provincial flag, as seen during the 2016 inauguration of the President of Gabon, is white with the provincial coat-of-arms occupying 4/5 of the height in the centre.

The blue / azure of the field and the tarpon fishes (Megalops atlanticus) represent the sea front of the province, and the wavy partition symbolizes the Nyanga River.  The serrated cotice, like a saw blade, recalls logging. The chief of gold recalls the savannah, the lion at the top means: "I guard the border".
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016