This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Woleu-Ntem Province (Gabon)

Last modified: 2022-10-22 by bruce berry
Keywords: woleu ntem | gabon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

See also:


Woleu-Ntem Province is named after two rivers, the Woleu and Ntem. It covers an area of 38,465 kmē and has 155,000 inhabitants (2013). The provincial capital is Oyem.
Woleu-Ntem is divided into 5 departments:
- Haut-Komo (Medouneu)
- Haut-Ntem (Minvoul)
- Ntem (Bitam)
- Okano (Mitzic)
- Woleu (Oyem).
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

Description of the flag

The provincial flag, as seen during the 2016 inauguration of the President of Gabon, is white with the provincial coat-of-arms occupying 4/5 of the height in the centre.

According to Heraldry of the World, the green shield stands for the forests, the wavy bands for the Woleu and N'Tem rivers. The cocoa pods symbolise cocoa production.
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016