This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

West Midlands (England)

Last modified: 2019-10-23 by rob raeside
Keywords: west midlands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Sea View Yacht Club] image by Nate McGarry, 13 November 2017

See also:

Description of the flag

A black and yellow flag. The West Midlands comprises the following districts: City of Wolverhampton, Dudley, Walsall, Sandwell, city of Birmingham, Solihull and the city of Coventry.
Nate McGarry, 13 November 2017

You can see an actual waving flag here: (source:

The image by Nate McGarry, is available at

The above mentioned source claims the following (regarding such flag as not being a County flag: "The armorial banner of the former West Midlands Council (official website:, defunct website, available at is NOT a county flag, West Midlands is not a County. The short lived administration only existed for twelve years from 1974 to 1986. The above banner was formed from its coat of arms) and only ever represented this administrative body. The remit of the
council covered territory in Warwickshire, Staffordshire and Worcestershire and residents of this locality should fly these county flags. The territories covered by the West Midlands local authority have been part of these respective counties (i.e. Birmingham, Black Country, Dudley (Metropolitan Borough), Finchfield, Halesowen, Kingswinford and Pelsall) for the best part of a thousand years and continue to be so; West Midlands (County) Council (April 1, 1974 - March 31, 1986) (source: was simply an administrative convenience, an arrangement which has been completely replaced by a series of smaller local authorities and boards., and only ever represented this administrative body, (and) was abolished along with five other metropolitan county councils and the Greater London Council by the Local Government Act 1985 (which had been created by the Local Government Act 1972) (sources: and and the constituent metropolitan boroughs effectively became unitary authorities, which " a type of local authority that has a single tier and is responsible for all local government functions within its area or performs additional functions which elsewhere in the relevant country are usually performed by national government or a higher level of sub-national government" (source:

"Following the abolition of the county council, some county-wide bodies continued to exist, which were administered by various
joint-boards of the seven districts, among these were the West Midlands Police (official website:, the West Midlands Fire Service (official website: and the West Midlands Passenger Transport Executive (branded as Centro 1990-2005 and rebranded Network West Midlands 2005-2016). WMPTE was dissolved in 2016 following the establishment, on June 17, 2016 (of) a new administrative body, the West Midlands Combined Authority, created for the county, under the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009, which created several other combined authorities (i.e. Manchester in England. The new body has powers over transport, economic development, skills and planning. A new directly elected position of Mayor of the West Midlands was created in 2017 to chair the new body. The first Mayoral election was held in May 2017. The WMCA "are 18 local authorities and four Local Enterprise Partnerships (LEPs) working together to move powers from Whitehall to the West Midlands and its locally elected politicians) and its transport arm, Transport for West Midlands (TfWM) (official website:
Source:, and"

For additional information go to WMCA (official website)

Esteban Rivera, 14 November 2017