This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Attica (Decentralized administration and Region, Greece)


Last modified: 2019-07-06 by ivan sache
Keywords: attica |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Attica]

Flag of Attica - Image by Ivan Sache, 30 August 2003

See also:

Presentation of Attica

Attica, once one of the 13 administrative Greek, is since 1 January 2011 one of the 7 decentralized administrations, made of the single region of the same name. The area of Attica is 3,808 sq. km. Its 3,812,330 inhabitants (2005) represent more than 30% of the whole population of Greece. Greater Athens (433 sq. km) represents 85% of the population of Attica.

Ivan Sache, 8 January 2013

Flag of Attica

The flag of Attica is blue with a (inner) gold and (outer) red border and a white cross in the middle.

Hakon, 30 August 2003

Municipalities in Attica

For administrative purposes, Attica is divided into eight regional units (North Athens, West Athens, Central Athens, South Athens, East Attica, Piraeus, Islands, and West Attica).

  • West Athens

  • Agia Varvara (Αγία Βαρβάρα)
  • Agioi Anargyroi-Kamatero (Άγιοι Ανάργυροι-Καματερό)
  • Aigaleo (Αιγάλεω)
  • Chaidari (Χαϊδάρι)
  • Ilion (Ίλιον; [Νέα Λιόσια])
  • Peristeri (Περιστέρι)
  • Petropouli (Πετρούπολη)
  • Central Athens

  • Athens (Αθήνα)
  • Dafni-Ymittos (Δάφνη-Υμηττός)
  • Filadelfia-Chalkidona (Φιλαδέλφεια-Χαλκηδόνα)
  • Galatsi (Γαλάτσι)
  • Ilioupoli (Ηλιούπολη)
  • Kalsariani (Καισαριανή)
  • Vyronas (Βύρωνας)
  • Zografou (Ζωγράφου)

Municipal units in Attica

This list is not a comprehensive list of municipal units (former municipalities) in Attica but only an index of those units for which information on their flag - or previous flag when a municipality - is available.