This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Puebla (Mexico)

Estado Libre y Soberano de Puebla

Last modified: 2022-08-13 by juan manuel gabino villascán
Keywords: mexico | puebla | puebla de zaragoza | puebla de los ángeles | coat of arms | white background |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Municipalities of Puebla

See also:

Coat of arms

[Puebla coat of arms
by Juan Manuel Gabino Villascán, 20 December 2019
Adopted: 20 August 1977 (Decree of the Ley que crea el Escudo del Estado de Puebla, published on 19 August 1977).

The Puebla coat of arms cosists of a shield divided into four quarters; in the first quarter there is a factory, a river, and a cogwheel, representing progress; the second quarter depicts a dam and a hidroelectric centra, for Puebla is the one of the major producers of electricity in Mexico; an arm holding a rifle over a fire, in the third quarter, resembles the begining of the Civil War on November 20, 1910; finally the fourth quarter is featured by growing lands, standing for agriculture, the main economic ativity in the State. In the center there is a little shield depicts a mountanous landscape (Citlaltepetl, Popocatepetl, Iztaccihuatl, and Malitzin) with sunrise bears the text "5 MAYO 1862", date when the Mexican army headed by Ignacio Zaragoza defeated the French Army, during the 1862 invation. The shield is bordered by the State's motto: "unidos en el tiempo en el esfuerzo en la justicia y en la esperanza" that is "United in time, in effort, in justice and in hope". At the top a mountanous landscape bellow an indigenous sculpture means the sun; as mantling two feathered snakes (for Quetzalcoatl), recalling the Tolteca culture once established in Cholula (town near Puebla City). At the bottom two corn plants as tails of the snakes.
Although the adoption of the new arms; at "Los Pinos", it is still hoisted a white flag charged with the former arms.
Juan Manuel Gabino Villascán, May 06, 2001.

The first coat of arms of the State of Puebla was that of the capital city, granted by Royal Decree on 20 July 1538. The coat of arms has a green shield bearing a five-tower fortress in gold, and two white-clothed angels holding the fortress, one in each side of the castle. Above right there is a "K" for Karolus (Charles) and a "V" for "Fifth": Charles V King of Spain. The two letters are in gold. Below the fortress a blue river. Over the red border a text reads: "Angelis Suis Deus de te ut custodiant te in omnibus viis tuis", that translated means: "God command his angels take care of you in all your paths". A text so close to that found in Psal 91, 11-12 and Mat 4, 6. It is still the coat of arms of the city of Puebla de Zaragoza, formerlly called Puebla de los Ángeles.
Juan Manuel Gabino Villascán, May 06, 2001.

De facto flag

De facto flag of Puebla 4:7[Non-official proportions] [Defacto flag] [One or more variants under the same basic design]
by Juan Manuel Gabino Villascán, 23 July 2022
1 | 2 | 3 | 4

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.